Hi Society!

Today we’re talking about the joy of the mountains, also known as oregano. It’s a popular herb in my house, but not for the mediterranean culinary reason you might be thinking of. Of course I love pizza! But I love staying healthy even more 🙂

Oregano ”has antioxidant and antimicrobial properties, it aids digestion, and helps prevent gas. Oregano stimulates blood flow in the uterus and so helps treat menstrual pain and irregularities. It supports healthy liver function and perspiration. Supplements of oregano essential oil are a popular treatment for colds, fevers, fungal infections, indigestion, parasites, and menstrual problems. Use topically as an antiseptic or as a liniment for its warming qualities. It is a well-known kitchen remedy for toothache. The oil is strongly sedative, so use moderately.”, wrote Rebecca Wood in The New Whole Foods Encyclopedia.

My mom used to give me a few drops of oregano oil to put under my tongue for a few seconds when a cold was approaching. It would always scare it away (it’s very potent, have a glass of water ready!). I just harvested all the oregano I could find in the garden because fall and its frost is upon us. Making essential oil is a little too daunting for me at the moment but simple oregano oil isn’t. Google it if you are curious! Basically, you steep the fresh oregano in equal amount of oil in the sunlight for two weeks, and then you strain the liquid and put it away in a dark cool place. It’s obviously not going to be as strong as an essential oil but I bet it’s going to give your immune system the extra kick it needs! I’ll let you know over the winter if it helped me.

P.S.: Did you know that drying oregano actually intensifies its flavor? You’re welcome, society!

