Hi Society!

This spring, I planted my second garden ever. I made it big thinking I would have much more time than I actually had. Oops. I also planted my radish seeds the beginner way: scattering them (in the wind) on a cramped spot, ALL AT ONCE. I’m not sure what I was thinking. What I’m thinking now? Never again!

Next year, I’ll definately sow seeds in neat rows, giving them proper space to grow, and only sow 1 or 2 rows at a time so I can stretch the radish season and, most importantly, not be overwhelmed at the quantity of cherry bells! I’m really happy about my learning experience though. Because I had so many radishes, some plants started bolting and flowering. I let them be because I was curious. Seed pods then started to grow and then it occured to me “that’s how radish seeds are created!”. I guess I never took the time to think about those things. I feel a little dumb, but I’m so glad to be gaining all this knowledge right now.

Credits to gardenbetty.com
Credits to gardenbetty.com

Discovering seed pods made me realize that I could start saving seeds. One more step towards self-sufficiency and one more life skill being learned! I just read that you simply pick the pods at the end of the growing season (pretty much now for Alberta) and you let them dry. Then, you split the pods open and transfer them to a cool and dry location. I’m thinking in an envelope inserted in a glass jar. I read some people advise to freeze, some advise against… I still have some learning (and blind experimenting) to do before I can pick my own method. I’ll use some of the seeds during the next gardening season but I’ll also save some (in case something goes wrong), and sprout the rest! Radish sprouts are really refreshing and make a great addition to salads and sandwiches. They also make interesting stir-fry garnishes. Apparently, you can even pickle or stir-fry the entire fresh pod. Food for thought 😉

