Hi Society!

When I went through my pantry to assess its content, I noticed a bunch of coconut milk cans. I had bought them because they were on sale and because I was convinced that my husband and I both liked coconut. Turns out I like coconut milk and oil (not shredded coconut) and him: nothing! Coconut milk in curried or butter chicken is soooo delicious… but he also doesn’t like curry. Difficult man. Don’t get me wrong. I still force him to eat it. I keep pretending that I forgot he doesn’t like it. I also pretend the same with spinach.

I was going to write a post about chickpeas this morning (mostly because we had this amazingly simple italian classic soup yesterday) but this morning, I found a recipe combining chickpeas and coconut milk and I just had to go in that new direction instead.

Someone else posted 17 Absolutely Delicious Ways to Cook with Coconut Milk. There, I found recipes for creamy soups (potages en français) which I’m probably going to use. I currently only have one small sugar pumpkin (which made its appearance in this post) and I bet it’d make a tasty soup! I also found recipes for convenient slowcooking, puddings and other desserts, and even whipped cream! Cool. You can also, of course, make coconut milk ice cream (this post contains 30 different recipes!).

Finally, coconut milk screams, not for ice cream, but for thai food. Here’s a recipe I love.

Thai Shrimp Noode Bowl (from frame>by>frame, quick & easy) 

For 4 servings, you need:

  • scallions
  • 2 celery stalks
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 200 g rice vermicelli noodles
  • 2 Tbsp peanul oil
  • 1/2 C peanuts
  • 1 fresh sliced Thai chile (or not if you don’t like spicy)
  • 1 crushed lemongrass stalk (I use lemongrass powder to taste)
  • 1 3/4 C fish or chicken stock
  • 1 C coconut milk
  • 2 tsp fish sauce (I use 2 Tbsp because I like it!)
  • 350 g peeled shrimp
  • salt and pepper
  • cilentro to garnish (I use parsley because of my difficult husband)

In my words, diagonally slice the vegetables. Cook the noodles according to the package (usually just resting in a covered hot bowl of water until tender). Fry the peanuts in the oil for 1-2 min and set the peanut aside. Stir-fry the veggies for a couple minutes. Add chile, lemongrass, stock, milk and fish sauce and bring to a boil. Stir in the shrimp (cook until pink if using raw), add noodles and seasoning. Serve hot with garnishes.

Happy cooking!

