Hi Society!

Sunflower by Luethy
Sunflower by Luethy

Sunflower seeds should be part of your diet for the following reasons. Rebecca Wood wrote in The New Whole Foods Encyclopedia (my food bible) Sunflower by Luethy that they ”contain more protein than beef and 20 percent fat, most of which is unsaturated”. She adds that they are a ”good source of calcium, phosphorus, and iron, as well as vitamins E and several of the B-complex vitamins, they also contain the amino acid arginine and a trace of fluorine, which may explain the claim that they are good for the teeth. They are also rich in the cholesterol-lowering phytosterols.” Cool, eh?

I am obviously interested in this food because it has many proprieties. But also because I happen to have a ton of them in my pantry. In this post I’ll share a few recipes that I plan on trying to use them up. I’ll let you know how they turn out!

  • Sunflower Seed-Crusted Orange Roughy. Except I’ll probably end-up using a different fish for the simple reason that I doubt I can find it where I live. I might also substitute the panko breading just because I don’t buy those things. I might make a homemade alternative from old breadcrumbs.
  • Tai Chicken Pasta in SunButter Sauce. I intend to make my own sunbutter though. I found two great recipes on From The Grapevine. One’s for the sunflower seed butter and the other is for sunflower seed tahini.
  • Banana and Sunflower Seed Cookies. No foreseen substitutions.
  • Savory Kasha Loaf With Sunflower Seeds. The recipe is originally from Men’s Health but I haven’t yet been able to access the instructions. No worries. I’ll just wing it!
  • Sunflower Seed Beet Pizza. This recipe is found in Brendan Brazier’s Thrive book. I have done this vegan recipe before. It’s pretty good and very easy to make. Here are the ingredients for the crust: 2 C ground sunflower seeds, 1 C grated beet, 1/4 C coconut oil (hemp oil can be substituted), 1/2 tsp parsley, sea salt to taste. Simply mix them together and firmly pat on a pizza pan. For the toppings, leave it to your imagination!
  • Sunflower Seed Pâté. Recipe also by Brendan Brazier. Bonus: it’s raw! Process the following ingredients in a food processor (redundant a little?): 2 garlic cloves, 2 C sunflower seeds, 1/2 C walnuts, 1/3 cup hemp oil, 1/4 C orange juice, 1 tsp sea salt. I might substitute the hemp oil for coconut oil just because I like substitutions…

Have fun cooking!

