I confess: I don’t like showering. I’m not really sure why. It’s true that I do have long hair but I don’t even wash it everyday. In case some of you know me: I feel the need to say I shower enough that you won’t smell me…. just kidding! I mostly only avoid showers when I don’t have to go anywhere that day and/or if I haven’t broke a sweat, rubbed myself in dirt, etc. I hope this makes you feel better! I don’t really care either way 😛 A little less than a year ago, I noticed how much I disliked initiating my shower routine so I decided to google the issue. Just for fun.

I was expecting to find out I was depressed. Google diagnosis, right? However, I discovered something completely different. Turns out I wasn’t the only healthy person in the world not liking to shower. It shouldn’t have come as a big surprise since there are more than 7 billion humans but it kinda was, still. Most reasons revolved around common topics: water conservation (I since discovered a shower system that reuses water), toxic chemicals in commercial body wash, showering often strips skin from healthy oils, etc. Some people even explained their decision of not showering everyday with simple facts: before showers and baths were installed in homes, people would simply ”wash out the essentials” and they were fine. It made me laugh a little.

I decided my excuse reason would be to save the natural oils on my skin. I don’t feel the need to be ”squiky clean”. I decided then to change from commercial soaps to a homemade soap. I found a great recipe for a natural Moisturizing Honey Body Wash. The only problem is that my husband and I don’t seem to agree on essential oils. I love eucalyptus and rosemary essences, he likes…. chemical fragrances. It’s a little sad. I already feed him tofu and lentils without him knowing it, I don’t want to force him to change; I want him to see the benefits for himself. That might take a while. In the meantime, anyone with similar situations, success stories or words of encouragement? Looking forward to hearing from you 🙂

